We use cookies to improve your website experience. To learn about our use of cookies and how you can manage your cookie settings, please see our Cookie Policy. By closing this message, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

The Coote Lake Medal

The Coote Lake Medal is named in memory of Harold Coote Lake (1878-1939) who was active in running the Folklore Society in the 1920s and 30s. He was Treasurer in 1929-30 and Secretary in 1931-9. The medal is awarded from time to time by the Committee of the Folklore Society for outstanding research and scholarship. The recipients have been:

  • 2018 Dr Gillian Bennett and Dr Caroline Oates
  • 2014 Malcolm Taylor and Dr Eddie Cass
  • 2013 Professor Patricia Lysaght
  • 2008 Jennifer Westwood
  • 2007 Dr Jaqueline Simpson and Dr ‘Doc’ Rowe
  • 2006 Dr Venetia Newall
  • 2000 Professor John Widdowson and Dr Roy Judge
  • 1987 Dr Emily Lyle and Dr Ian Russell
  • 1984 Ethel Rudkin and Dr Hilda Davidson
  • 1983 Theo Brown and Stewart Sanderson
  • 1979 Christina Hole
  • 1968 Alex Helm and Enid Porter
  • 1960 Iona and Peter Opie
  • 1955 Professor E. O. James
  • 1952 Dr W. L. Hildburgh
  • 1941 Dr T. E. Lones
  • 1940 M. M. Banks