We use cookies to improve your website experience. To learn about our use of cookies and how you can manage your cookie settings, please see our Cookie Policy. By closing this message, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

Governance: Council and Management Board

The Folklore Society Council (2023-24)

  • Dr Matthew Cheeseman
  • Dr Paul Cowdell
  • Prof. Owen Davies (Vice-President)
  • Dr Oliver Douglas
  • Dr Helen Frisby (Participation Officer)
  • Prof. James H. Grayson
  • Mr Jeremy Harte
  • Dr Jessica Hemming (Editor of Folklore)
  • Prof. David Hopkin (President, 2023-26)
  • Dr Ceri Houlbrook (Editor of FLS News)
  • Prof. Richard Jenkins (Hon. Treasurer)
  • Ms Sophia Kingshill (Honorary Secretary)
  • Mr Nick Le Bigre
  • Prof. Patricia Lysaght
  • Mr Ross MacFarlane
  • Mr Mark Norman
  • Dr ‘Doc’ Rowe
  • Prof. Ian Russell
  • Dr Kate Smith
  • Dr Juliette Wood

Trustees of The Folklore Society

  • President: Prof. David Hopkin
  • Vice President: Prof. Owen Davies
  • Secretary: Ms Sophia Kingshill
  • Honorary Treasurer: Prof. Richard Jenkins
  • Participation Officer: Dr Helen Frisby

Directors of Folklore Enterprises Ltd

  • Prof. Owen Davies
  • Prof. Richard Jenkins

Publications and Administration

  • Editor, Folklore: Dr Jessica Hemming
  • Assistant Editor, Folklore: Dr Antone Minard
  • Associate Editor, Folklore: Dr Paul Cowdell
  • Editor, FLS News: Dr Ceri Houlbrook
  • Reviews Editor, Folklore: Dr Tina Paphitis
  • Library and Admin: Dr Caroline Oates
  • Assistant Administrator: Dr Claire Collins

Legal Advisor

Alan Murdie, LL.B, Barrister,  Nucleus Legal Advice, 298 Old Brompton Road, London SW5 9JF.


Azets, Globe House, Sittingbourne Road, Maidstone, Kent, ME19 3EN

Past Presidents of The Folklore Society