We use cookies to improve your website experience. To learn about our use of cookies and how you can manage your cookie settings, please see our Cookie Policy. By closing this message, you are consenting to our use of cookies.


The Folkore Society offers a number of awards.

The Katharine Briggs Award is an annual book prize which commemorates the life and work of the distinguished scholar Katharine Mary Briggs (1898-1980; Society president 1969—1972).

The President’s Prize is open to all students formally registered and enrolled in a relevant undergraduate or equivalent level 4 or 5 course of study in the British Isles and Republic of Ireland.

The Estella Canziani Post-Graduate Bursary for Research is an annual award which is worth up to £1,000.

In 2014, we established a biennial Non-Print Media Award for folklore publications in media other than print in Britain and Ireland.

The Coote Lake medal is awarded from time to time by the Committee of the Folklore Society for outstanding research and scholarship.

Contact thefolkloresociety@gmail.com for more information