We use cookies to improve your website experience. To learn about our use of cookies and how you can manage your cookie settings, please see our Cookie Policy. By closing this message, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

Katharine Briggs Lecture and Awards Shortlists

— Posted on 16th November 2021
Tonight, 16 November 2021, at 6 pm, The Katharine Briggs Lecture, online:
Prof. Ian Russell: “‘Peace o’er the World:’ Christmas Carolling in the Hope Valley.”
After the lecture, we will announce the winners of this year’s Katharine Briggs Award and our Non-Print Media Award.
The Katharine Briggs Award 2021 Shortlist (alphabetically):
  • Lesley Coote, Storyworlds of Robin Hood: The Origins of a Medieval Outlaw (Reaktion Books)
  • Julian Goodare and Martha McGill (eds.), The Supernatural in Early Modern Scotland (Manchester University Press)
  • Jonathan Y. H. Hui, Vilmundar saga viðutanThe Saga of Vilmundur the Outsider (Viking Society for Northern Research)
  • Raphael Chijioke Njoku, West African Masking Traditions and Diaspora Masquerade Carnivals: History, Memory, and Transnationalism (Boydell and Brewer)
  • Donna Schatt and Patrick Ryan, Story Listening and Experience in Early Childhood (Palgrave Macmillan)
  • Vaughn Scribner, Merpeople: A Human History (Reaktion Books)
  • Marek Tuszewicki, A Frog Under the Tongue: Jewish Folk Medicine in Eastern Europe, translated by Jessica Taylor-Kucia (The Littman Library of Jewish Civilization)
And here is the Non-Print Media Award Shortlist:
  • Leafield Lass, sung by Freda Palmer (Musical Traditions)
  • Won’t You Buy My Pretty Flowers? sung by Charlie Bridger (Musical Traditions)
  • Margaret Fay Shaw’s Hebridean Odyssey, presented by Fiona Mackenzie (Yamal Productions/BBC Radio 3)
  • Henry Glassie, Fieldwork, documentary by Pat Collins (Southwind Blows/Harvest Films)
  • Iorram [Boat Song], documentary by Alastair Cole (Tongue Tied Films)