We use cookies to improve your website experience. To learn about our use of cookies and how you can manage your cookie settings, please see our Cookie Policy. By closing this message, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

Council and Management Board

The Folklore Society Ltd is a company limited by guarantee with charitable status. The day-to-day activities and decisions are the responsibility of the Folklore Society Council and Management Board (Trustees).


Dr Matthew Cheeseman

Dr Paul Cowdell

Prof. Owen Davies

Dr Oliver Douglas

Dr Helen Frisby

Prof. James H. Grayson (Vice-President)

Mr Jeremy Harte

Dr Jessica Hemming (Editor of Folklore)

Prof. David Hopkin

Dr Ceri Houlbrook (Editor of FLS News)

Prof. Richard Jenkins (Hon. Treasurer)

Prof. Patricia Lysaght (President)

Dr Raphaële Mouren (Honorary Librarian)

Mr Mark Norman

Mr David Palliser

Mr William Roberts (Hon. Secretary)

Dr ‘Doc’ Rowe

Prof. Ian Russell

Dr Juliette Wood (Folklore Reviews Editor)

Editor of Folklore: Dr Jessica Hemming

Editor of FLS News: Dr Ceri Houlbrook

Editor of Reviews in Folklore: Dr Juliette Wood

(Library and Admin: Dr Caroline Oates)

Trustees of The Folklore Society

  • President: Prof. Patricia Lysaght
  • Vice President: Prof. James H. Grayson
  • Secretary: Dr William Roberts
  • Honorary Treasurer: Prof. Richard Jenkins

Directors of Folklore Enterprises Ltd

Dr William Roberts

Prof Richard Jenkins