The Katharine Briggs Award 2015: Shortlisted Entries

The following books, in alphabetical order, have been shortlisted for this year's Katharine Briggs Award. The judges' decision will be announced at a wine reception and buffet supper on Wednesday 18 November following our annual Katharine Briggs Lecture starting at 6.30 p.m. at The Warburg Institute. To book, contact

  • Atkinson, David, and Steve Roud (eds).  Street Ballads in Nineteenth-Century Britain, Ireland and North America: The Interface between Print and Oral Traditions  (Ashgate).
  • Banks, Stephen.  Informal Justice in England and Wales, 1760–1914: The Courts of Popular Opinion  (The Boydell Press).
  • Clarke, David.  How UFOs Conquered the World: The History of a Modern Myth  (Aurum Press).
  • Jenkins, Richard.  Black Magic and Bogeymen: Fear, Rumour and Popular Belief in the North of Ireland, 1972-74  (Cork University Press).
  • Salzberg, Rosa.  Ephemeral City: Cheap Print and Urban Culture in Renaissance Venice  (Manchester University Press).
  • Scurr, Ruth.  John Aubrey: My Own Life  (Chatto & Windus).
  • Teverson, Andrew, Alexandra Warwick, and Leigh Wilson (eds).  The Selected Works of Andrew Lang (2 vols.)  (Edinburgh University Press).
  • Warner, Marina.  Once Upon a Time: A Short History of Fairy Tale  (Oxford University Press).

Venetia Newall

We are very sad to report the death of Dr Venetia Newall, past president of The Folklore Society and recipient of our Coote Lake Medal for folklore research. Her obituary will be be published in Folklore very soon.

Special award to Robert McDowall

A special award of an engraved goblet was presented on 31 March 2017 to Robert McDowall as a token of gratitude for his twenty years of devoted service to the Folklore Society, as President, vice-President and, especially, for his financial…

Non-print Media Award

We are delighted to announce that the winner of the 2016 biennial Non-Print Media Award is Rod Stradling of Musical Traditions for his 2 CD set of Sam Larner: Cruising Round Yarmouth (MTCD369-0)

Katharine Briggs Award

We are delighted to announce that this year's Katharine Briggs Award was won by Lizanne Henderson for her book Witchcraft and Folk Belief in the Age of the Enlightenment: Scotland, 1670-1740 (Palgrave).

The runner-up was Éamonn Ó Tuathail…

The Katharine Briggs Award 2016: Short List

Of the nineteen entries this year, the judges short listed the following six books (in alphabetical order):

Lizanne Henderson, Witchcraft and Folk Belief in the Age of Enlightenment: Scotland, 1670–1740 (Palgrave Macmillan, 2016).


Stewart Sanderson

We are very sad to hear of the death of Stewart Sanderson, editor of Robert Kirk's Secret Common-wealth in our Mistletoe series, 1976. 

Food and Drink in Legend and Tradition

Many thanks to all our speakers and audience at the conference at St Nick's Centre, York. Great papers, and some tasty samples too.

See a few of Jeremy Harte's photos here